Deep Wells

In 2013 and 2014 we realized six deep wells with a mechanical pump in the individual districts of Gofila. Each well is between 60 – 100 m deep and has a capacity of 1,000 – 4,000 l/h. These wells were built by the company SHS from Ouagadougou. They have been in operation for several years now and function perfectly.

This well construction project represents a great improvement in the living conditions of the population. They have enough water for drinking, cooking and watering the animals, their essential livelihood. Most of them were only able to wash during the rainy season – which led to terrible conditions due to a lack of hygiene.

Until now, some women had to walk several kilometres to reach the next shallow well (approx. 20 m deep). These shallow wells are often dried out in the dry season and the water quality is very poor, e.g. brown water or contamination by rotten animals that have fallen into the wells.

We thank Firma Faist Anlagenbau GmbH, Rotary Club Günzburg and the participants of the “Jettinger Brunnenlauf” for their generous donation. With their help, the project was successfully implemented.

Brunnenbau

In den Jahren 2013 und 2014 haben wir in den einzelnen Ortsteilen von Gofila sechs Tiefbrunnen mit einer mechanischen Pumpe realisiert. Jeder ist zwischen 60 – 100 m tief und bringt 1.000 – 4.000 l/h. Gebaut wurden diese Brunnen von der Firma SHS aus Ouagadougou. Sie sind mittlerweile seit mehreren Jahren in Betrieb und funktionieren einwandfrei.

Dieses Brunnenbauprojekt stellt für die Bevölkerung eine großartige Verbesserung ihrer Lebensverhältnisse dar. Sie haben genügend Wasser zum Trinken, Kochen und für das Tränken der Tiere, ihre wesentliche Lebensgrundlage. Die meisten konnten sich nur in der Regenzeit waschen – was zu furchtbaren Verhältnissen durch mangelnde Hygiene geführt hat.

Bisher mussten die Frauen teilweise mehrere Kilometer laufen, um den nächsten Flachbrunnen zu erreichen (ca. 20 m tief). Diese Flachbrunnen sind in der Trockenzeit oft ausgetrocknet und die Wasserqualität ist sehr schlecht z.B. braunes Wasser oder Verunreinigung durch verweste Tiere, welche in den Brunnen gefallen sind.

Wir danken der Firma Faist Anlagenbau GmbH, dem Rotary Club Günzburg und den Mitwirkenden vom „Jettinger Brunnenlauf“ für deren großzügige Spende. Mit deren Hilfe konnte das Projekt erfolgreich umgesetzt werden.